You are here

580b57fcd9996e24bc43c53e   LinkedIn Logo 500x500   Facebook logo square   Iguana Trans cropped

event icon
Date
29.01.22
Start time
15:00
End time
16:00
Online
Australasia branch

Dr Ross Graham MRSB, senior lecturer in molecular genetics, will be giving a talk on obesity research carried out at Curtin University


Event overview

Obesity is a cellular disease which results in fat accumulation affecting many bodily organs, including the liver. Dr Graham will be presenting the research approach used by his lab, which uses synchrotron technology and biophysics to track the accumulation of fat in live liver cells in response to iron, a bio-metal, known to be elevated in about one-third of fatty liver disease patients. Understanding the fundamentals of fat accumulation is an important component of developing more targeted therapies for treating obesity.

Programme

15:00 AEST Welcome
15:05 AEST Talk
15:35 AEST Questions
15:50 AEST Thank you

Time zones

This online talk will be held from 15:00-16:00 AEST (05:00-06:00 GMT) and will start at the following times:
15:00 AEST in QLD
16:00 AEDT in NSW, ACT, TAS, VIC
15:30 ACDT in SA
14:30 ACST in NT
13:00 AWST in WA
18:00 NZDT in New Zealand
12:00 in Jakarta, Indonesia

Cost and booking

This event is free to attend and open to all. Advance registration is essential through the link at the top of the page. If the booking link is not visible, contact regions@rsb.org.uk
The meeting joining link will be circulated with registered attendees ahead of the event.

Contact

Please direct all event enquiries to Stefanie Bonat at stef_bonat@outlook.com
For booking or website queries, please contact Karen Patel at regions@rsb.org.uk or on 020 3925 3443.