You are here

Primary Science Teacher of the Year Award

Why and HowThe Royal Society of Biology endorses and supports the Primary Science Teaching Trust (PSTT) Awards for primary science teachers.

Hence, a category of PSTT Primary Science Teacher Award, known as the Royal Society of Biology Award, to recognise outstanding and inspirational teaching of biology within the context of primary education within the UK school system.

Update: If you know an outstanding primary teacher you can now nominate them for an award. The deadline for nominations to be received by the Primary Science Teaching Trust is 21st July 2017.

The 2015 awards

This year's award winning teachers are Michele Grimshaw from Burnley and Judith Carnelley from Shirley Manor Primary School in Bradford.

Previous award winners endorsed by the Royal Society of Biology are:


Beth Budden from John Ball Primary School, Lewisham, London


James Davis, Ripple Primary School, Essex
Lorna Stevenson, Macosquin Primary, Coleraine, Northern Ireland        


Kulvinder Johal, Northbury Junior School, Barking, Essex
Alison Eley, Hampton Hill Junior School, Middlesex

UK 3B Scientific Ltd is also supporting the Royal Society of Biology Award and is offering prizes to the winners of the Primary Science Teacher and School Teacher of the Year Awards.

More information about the Primary Science Teachers of the Year Award is available on the PSTT website.

  3B 4c copy