You are here

580b57fcd9996e24bc43c53e   LinkedIn Logo 500x500   Facebook logo square   Iguana Trans cropped

At the Annual General Meeting today the Society of Biology officially welcomed the incoming president, Professor Dame Jean Thomas, and said farewell and thank you to Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, the first president of the Society of Biology.

The AGM was well attended with representation from student members, members, Fellows and Member Organisation representatives. The Charter Lecture, ''Understanding human tumour viruses: opportunities to alleviate the global cancer burden" was provided by Professor David Blackbourn and offered a great opportunity for discussion around the room.

The President's Medal, awarded to those who have made an exceptional contribution to the Society, was presented to David Slingsby and Alan Johnston. David has been editor of the Journal of Biological Education, and Alan's contributions to the Institute and now the Society include two terms as a Council member and six years as honorary treasurer.

The AGM moved to approve the accounts of the financial year ending 30th September 2013, and approved BDO LLP as the auditors for the Society for the 2013/2014 financial year.

We use cookies: to perform functions such as login and account management; and to track usage with Google analytics to improve our website. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our cookie policy.   I accept cookies from this site.