You are here

580b57fcd9996e24bc43c53e   LinkedIn Logo 500x500   Facebook logo square   Iguana Trans cropped

The Society of Biology is delighted that eight of its Fellows have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours list 2014. They are:

  • Professor Douglas Bruce Kell CBE, formerly chief executive, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council, for services to science and research.
  • Professor David Bradley Morton CBE, veterinarian, for services to the UK and international veterinary profession especially animal welfare and ethics.  
  • Professor Richard Parish CBE, formerly chief executive, Royal Society for Public Health, for services to public health.
  • Kenneth Albert Applebee OBE, Member, Council of the Institute for Animal Technology, for services to animal technician education and animal technology.
  • Professor Nigel Leslie Brown OBE, president, Society for General Microbiology and emeritus professor of molecular microbiology, University of Edinburgh, for services to science.  
  • Professor Mary Alice Ritter OBE, chief executive officer, Climate-KIC, for services to scientific research and innovation.  
  • Dr Barbara Knowles MBE, senior science policy adviser at the Society of Biology, for services to science communication and the environment.
  • Dr Nigel Wells Kerby MBE, managing director, Mylnefield Research Services Ltd, for services to business and science.

Dr Mark Downs FSB, chief executive of the Society of Biology, says: "We are extremely pleased to again be reminded of the diverse ways in which our Fellows contribute to science and society. Many congratulations to these Fellows for their achievements.”