You are here

580b57fcd9996e24bc43c53e   LinkedIn Logo 500x500   Facebook logo square   Iguana Trans cropped

Five new members have been appointed to the Council of the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) by the Minister for Universities and Science Rt Hon David Willetts. Of these five, three are Fellows of the Society of Biology.

These are:
- Professor Richard Cogdell FSB
- Professor Margaret Dallman FSB
- Professor Helen Sang FSB

Professor Richard Cogdell FSB
Professor Richard Cogdell FSB is currently the Hooker professor of botany at the University of Glasgow, director of the Institute of Molecular, Cell and Systems Biology and deputy head of the College of the Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences.

Professor Margaret Dallman FSB
Professor Maggie Dallman FSB is dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences, and professor of immunology at Imperial College London. Professor Dallman currently chairs the BBSRC Basic Sciences Underpinning Health Strategy Panel.

Professor Helen Sang FSB
Professor Helen Sang FSB is personal chair in vertebrate molecular development at The Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh. She is a member of the BBSRC Bioscience for Industry panel.

BBSRC chair, Professor Sir Tom Blundell Hon FSB, said: "I am pleased to welcome the new members to BBSRC Council during its 20th anniversary. As we look back on our achievements over the last two decades, it is clear that our new and reappointed council members have played an important role in shaping the UK's world-leading bioscience landscape. I am delighted that their academic and commercial expertise will help to further enhance BBSRC's capabilities in the coming years."