You are here

Biologists working in fields as diverse as plant science, genetics, virology, environmental science, cell biology and research ethics have been recognised in the New Year Honours List.

The bioscience-heavy honours list featured no less than fifteen scientists or ex-scientists working in biology-related fields, and included eight Fellows of the Royal Society of Biology.

Honorary Fellow Sir Alec Jeffreys, the inventor of DNA fingerprinting, who last year featured at the Society's fundraising event, was made a Companion of Honour, one of the highest accolades in the commonwealth.

Professor Ottoline Leyser FRSB, director of the Sainsbury Laboratory in Cambridge, was made a Dame for services to plant science, science in society, and equality and diversity in science.

Professor Andrew George FRSB, chair of Hammersmith Hospital Research Ethics Committee, was awarded an MBE for services to research participants and the ethical governance of clinical research.

Professor Wen Guo Jiang FRSB was awarded an MBE for services to international cancer research.

Michael Depledge FRSB, professor of environment and human health at University of Exeter Medical School, and professor Stephen Inglis FRSB, from the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control, were both awarded CBEs - Professor Depledge for services to environment and human health, Inglis for services to health protection.

James Charles Neil FRSB, professor of virology and molecular oncology at the University of Glasgow, was awarded an OBE for services to the advancement of biomedical sciences, while Dr Heather Anne Barrett-Mold FRSB was appointed OBE for services to horticulture, sustainable development and environmental conservation.