You are here

The Royal Society of Biology would like to offer warm congratulations to a number of members who have been recognised in the 2024 New Year Honours List for their bioscience and community work.

s300 OBE male boxed

Professor Ann Prentice FRSB, honorary senior visiting Fellow, MRC Epidemiology Unit, University of Cambridge, received a CBE for services to British and global public health nutrition.

Professor William Cushley FRSB, professor in molecular biosciences, University of Glasgow, and chair, Expert Committee on Pesticides, received an OBE for services to the regulation of plant protection products.

Professor Yvonne Perrie FRSB, professor of drug delivery and head, Institute for Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences, received an MBE for services to pharmaceutical innovation and regulation.

Dr Shara Cohen FRSB, chief executive officer, Honnao Ltd., founder, Mums in Science, received a BEM for voluntary services to women in STEM and to cancer patients and their families.

Dr Julia Fentem CBiol MRSB, executive vice president, safety, environmental and regulatory science, Unilever, received an MBE for services to human health and animal welfare.

Dr Robert Orford FRSB, chief scientific advisor for health, Welsh Government, received an OBE for services to health sciences and evidence in health policy.

Professor Andrew Hopkins FRS FMedSci FRSE FRSB, chief executive officer, Exscientia, received a CBE for services to science and to innovation.

The New Year Honours list for 2024 recognises the achievements and service of extraordinary people across the United Kingdom.

Contact us at if you, or a member you know, has been also been honoured this year.