You are here

Our Honorary Fellows listed by surname:

A - F     G - K     L - R     S - Z

Professor Sir James Armour CBE FRSE Hon FRSB

Professor Sir James Armour is emeritus professor of veterinary parasitology at the University of Glasgow. He has served on many governmental and academic committees and other organisations including vice-president of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, 1998 to 2000, and chairman of the St Andrews Clinics for Children in Africa, 2000 to 2005. He was awarded a CBE in 1989 and was knighted in 1995.

Sir David Attenborough OM CH CVO FZS FSA CBE FRS Hon FRSB

Sir David Attenborough is a celebrated broadcaster and naturalist. After studying natural sciences at Cambridge, Attenborough embarked on a successful career in television and is considered by many to be the face and voice of natural history. His many documentaries over the past 50 years and more, such as the Life BBC series, have brought the beauty of nature to the attention of mainstream audiences. A video of Sir David 'in conversation' at the RSB's 2015 fundraising event is available on YouTube.


Professor Sue Black is director of the Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification at the University of Dundee. She is a founder and past president of the British Association for Human Identification and advisor to the Home Office and Interpol on issues pertaining to forensic anthropology in disaster victim identification (DVI). She is Patron of the Dundee Women in Science Festival and a Wolfson research merit award holder. Professor Black is Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Anthropological Institute, the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh). She was awarded an OBE in 2001 for her services to forensic anthropology in Kosovo, the Lucy Mair medal for humanitarian services in 2008, a police commendation for DVI training and in 2013 CAHID was awarded the Queen's Anniversary Prize for excellence in higher education.

Professor Sir Colin Blakemore FMedSci Hon FRCP Hon FRSM FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Colin Blakemore is a professor of neuroscience and philosophy at the School of Advanced Study, University of London and an emeritus professor of neuroscience at the University of Oxford. His research interests include vision, early development of the brain and plasticity of the cerebral cortex. He is president of the Motor Neurone Disease Association and The Brain Tumour Charity, and chair of the General Advisory Committee on Science at the Food Standard Agency. Past roles include president of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (now the British Science Association) and The Physiological Society and chair of Understanding Animal Research. He was the founding president of the Biosciences Federation, which was the predecessor of the Royal Society of Biology. As well as authoring hundreds of specialist books and articles, he has communicated science to the public through a significant amount of television and radio broadcasting, as well as popular science books and frequent contributions to the national press on science and science policy.

Professor Sir Stephen Bloom Hon FRSB

Professor Steve Bloom is the head of division for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism, chair of the academic Section of Investigative Medicine at Imperial College London and chief of service for pathology at Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust. He is a leading expert on obesity and currently leads a research group investigating hypothalamic appetite control systems and gut hormones. This group's discovery that oxyntomodulin reduces appetite offers a potential new treatment for obesity. In 2012, Professor Bloom was knighted for his service to health and has sat on numerous committees, including the MRC Advisory Board and the Royal College of Physicians.

Professor Sir Gordon Conway KCMG FRGS FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Sir Gordon Conway is currently professor of international development at Imperial College London where his work focuses on the crucial role science can play in poverty reduction. He trained in agricultural ecology and pioneered of sustainable agriculture in the 1960s, developing integrated pest management programmes in Malaysia. He has held many significant posts, including: president of the Royal Geographical Society; director of the Sustainable Agriculture Programme at IIED; vice-chancellor of the University of Sussex; president of The Rockefeller Foundation; and the first ever chief scientific adviser to the Department for International Development.

Professor Brian Cox OBE Hon FRSB

Professor Brian Cox works at CERN in Geneva on the ATLAS experiment, studying the forward proton detectors for the Large Hadron Collider there. He is based at The University of Manchester as a research fellow and works in the High Energy Physics group. Cox was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the Queen's 2010 Birthday Honours for services to science.

Professor Richard Dawkins FRSL FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Richard Dawkins is an evolutionary biologist, ethologist and author of many notable books including The Selfish Gene, The Blind Watchmaker and The God Delusion. He is famous for popularising the view that the gene is the principal unit of selection in evolution and, more recently, for his outspoken atheist beliefs. He is the founder of the Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason and Science, and the former Charles Simonyi professor of the public understanding of science at Oxford University. Read an interview with Professor Dawkins in The Biologist.

Sir Martin Evans FRS FMedSci Hon FRSB

Sir Martin Evans is a developmental biologist and received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, along with Mario Capecchi and Oliver Smithies, in recognition of their work in the development of the knockout mouse and the related technology of gene targeting. Sir Martin is a Fellow of the Royal Society and a founder Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. He was awarded the prestigious Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research in the US in 2001.


A - F     G - K     L - R     S - Z