You are here

Our Honorary Fellows listed by surname:

A - F     G - K     L - R     S - Z

Dr Jane Goodall DBE Hon FRSB

Dr Jane Goodall is an English UN Messenger of Peace and ethologist most famous for her 45 year study of chimpanzee social and family interactions in Tanzania and for founding the Jane Goodall Institute. She has received many environmental awards and honours and still works as an advocate on behalf of chimpanzees and the environment across the globe.

Professor Sir John Gurdon FRS FMedSci Hon FRSB

Professor Sir John Gurdon is a retired developmental biologist. In 2012 Sir John and Shinya Yamanaka were jointly awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent. Sir John spent much of his research career at the University of Cambridge, starting at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and then at the Department of Zoology. He was a founding member of the Wellcome/CRC Institute for Cell Biology and Cancer and was its chair until 2001. Sir John was a member of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics and master of Magdalene College, Cambridge. In 2014 he delivered the Harveian Oration at the Royal College of Physicians.

Lord Harries of Pentregarth Hon FRSB

Lord Harries of Pentregarth is the current Gresham professor of divinity. He was formerly the Bishop of Oxford as well as the dean of King's College London, where he is now a fellow and honorary professor of theology. He has published numerous articles on medical ethics and has held positions in this field, including: chair of the Lords Select Committee on Stem Cell Research; chair of the Ethics and Law Advisory Group of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority; and was a member of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics.

Dr Roger Highfield Hon FRSB

Dr Roger Highfield is an author, journalist and broadcaster, and is currently the external affairs director of the National Museum of Science and Industry. Previously, he was editor of New Scientist and a technology and science editor for The Daily Telegraph. He has authored several books, regularly contributed to BBC radio and is a member of various committees including the Advisory Committee for the Science Museum and the Royal Academy of Engineering's Communications and Public Engagement Committee.

Professor Sir David Hopwood Kt FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Sir David Hopwood is the emeritus professor of genetics at the University of East Anglia and John Innes emeritus fellow. His research group was the first to clone both any gene involved in antibiotic production and a complete set of genes for an antibiotic. This pioneering work enabled the production of 'designer antibiotics' by genetic manipulation. He was also responsible for the sequencing project for the Streptomyces coelicolor chromosomes.

Sir Timothy Hunt FRS FMedSci Hon FRSB

Sir Timothy Hunt is a biochemist and was a recipient of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine along with Sir Paul Nurse and Leland H Hartwell for their discoveries of protein molecules that control the duplication of cells. Sir Tim is a Fellow of the Royal Society and member of the Advisory Council for the Campaign for Science and Engineering. In 2006 he was he was awarded the Royal Medal for his work on cell cycle control.

Professor Alec Jeffreys FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Alec Jeffreys is the professor of genetics and Royal Society Wolfson Research Professor at the University of Leicester. He discovered the revolutionary technique of genetic fingerprinting in 1984 at Leicester. In 1988 Jeffreys was able to describe the mutation rate between parents and their child's DNA at highly variable repeats of DNA called 'minisatellites'. His ground-breaking genetic research has continued and work he has done could be applicable to identifying mutations and unearthing the causes of many common human diseases. He has received widespread recognition for his work and received many awards, including the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine and the Lasker Award for Clinical Medical Research.

A - F     G - K     L - R     S - Z